other interests

I have a friend who is very skilled at creating art using encaustic techniques. I am endeavoring to take what he has taught me and using my plant material create a new version that is mine.

Beeswax is a very interesting and ancient material. I am sure people have been using it to preserve plants for centuries. The wax we use for encaustic has a resin in it that makes it quite durable and not prone to softening (or melting which is what people always think of.) It is also very clean, so it is not the dark  yellow gold you would see in handmade candles for example. It is really white and mostly translucent in thin layers.

About The Eccentric Bee

Graphic and web designer. My art is made from plant material gathered from the nature around me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment